Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption




Since the Commencement of the FIFA World Cup in 1930, only 8 countries have gone on to lift the most coveted and glamorous trophy on planet earth.

In every world cup year, traditional world cup teams like Brazil, Germany, Italy, Argentina and Holland usually dominates major sports tabloid across the globe. The reason(s) why these teams enjoyed unprecedented ratings and encomiums prior to a world cup year is due to their past world cup antecedent. However, with the number of world cup triumphs that these countries have had, it is safe to say that they are a global brand, and indeed traditional world cup teams.

But, one major point that will form the basis of this discourse is the number of times that football power houses like Brazil, Italy and Germany have won the world cup.

Following their triumph in 1958, 1962 and 1970, the Selecao as the Brazilian National team is known, had to wait for 24 years, that is; 1994 to be precise, to win the world cup. And this happens to be it 4th World Cup win at the USA’94 world cup finals.

Similarly, the Azuris of Italy had to endure a tumultuous 24 years wait to have another grip at the world cup- Carting home their fourth world title in this circumstance by decisioning the le blue of France on penalties in a final hosted by Germany in 2006.

On the Other hand, the die Man shaft of Germany following a fairy tale misadventure of many world cups after its last triumph in 1990, came smoking with an array of stars who wanted to prove a point.  Expectedly, the Germans piped their eternal rivals Argentina 1-0 in 2014 world cup whom they coincidentally defeated by the same score line in the 1990 finals to win their 4th title after another 24 years wait.

From this analysis, it is obvious that these traditional world cup big guns have one thing in common and that is 4th World cup triumph and the 24 years wait. For the Selecao,  they have had heart break upon heart break in past world cups before their eventual triumph at the USA 1994 World Cup. Football aficionado’s, pundits and historian will not forget the selecao squad of  Espana’82 that had amazing talents like Zico, Socrates, Eder and Junior. With all the hype and expectations placed on these guys, they never got to win the world cup.

Also, the pendulum of heartbreaks and failures did seemingly swung on the direction of the Azurris . But, one interesting fact I must advance here is that prior to their 1982 world cup triumph in Spain, Italian football was rocked with Calciopoli Scandal in which the player who later turned out to be the star man of the 1982 world cup, Paolo Rossi had a Suspended a jail term back home in Italy  having been found culpable of the match fixing scandal that rocked Italian football.

Amazingly, another crisis brewed again and infamously rocked the Italian game prior to the 2006 World Cup in Germany. Indeed, big Italian Club sides; AC Milan and Juventus were mostly affected. Whilst AC Milan had their cumulative points of the 2005/2006 season deducted, Juventus were relegated to the second tier of Italian football after investigations revealed the enormity of these respective clubs, and their involvement in the Calciopoilo Scandal. However, erring club directors were axed by the FIGC and various degrees of sanctions ranging from bans and fines were imposed on club chiefs by the Italian football authority.

This was a turning point in Italian football as the crisis tends to provide the tonic that propelled the Azuris to World Cup glory in Germany 2006. In other words, two of Italy’s world cup triumphs (1982 and 2006) were galvanized by crises that rocked the Italian domestic football scene.

On the backdrop of an unmitigated fiasco, the respective generation of players and coaching crew were inundated and undeterred by these crises, and, the Subsequent world cup triumph helps to douse an already tensed and charged atmosphere.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x