Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption

Four Nigerian Players Named In Arsenal’s Europa League Squad List B, Jersey Nos. Revealed

Four Nigerian youngsters made Arsenal’s Europa League squad ahead of their opening Group B fixture against Rapid Vienna on Thursday, October 22.

Goalkeeper Arthur Okonkwo, midfielders Miguel Azeez and Ryan Alebiosu, and striker Folarin Balogun have been named in the list B.

The List B is made up of players aged 21 or younger with two years training at the club and the list must be submitted by no later than 24:00CET the day before a match. 

Two Nigerians Tim Akinola and Joel Ideho who joined the Gunners from Huddersfield Town and Ajax Amsterdam respectively in the summer transfer window did not qualify to be submitted on the List B because they have spent less than two years at the Emirates Stadium outfit. 

Okonkwo will be wearing the 53 shirt should he make his European debut, Alebiosu has been assigned the number 36, while Azeez and Balogun get number 66 and 38 respectively. 

Okonkwo, Azeez, Balogun and Alebiosu have not made their competitive debuts for the Gunners though they have all trained with the first team. 

Arsenal’s other rivals in Group B are Dundalk from the Republic of Ireland and Norwegian champions Molde.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x