Bayern Munich star Robert Lewandowski beat off competition from Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo to win The Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year for 2020.

Lewandowski was exceptional in the 2019-20 season, scoring 55 goals in 47 appearances as Bayern swept to a BundesligaChampions League and DFB-Pokal treble – with the Poland emerging the top scorer in all three competitions.

The 32-year-old has continued his stunning form into the new season and, on Wednesday,scored his 250th goal in the Bundesliga to help Bayern to an important win.

Lewandowski was the favorite for this year’s award which also saw the Ballon d’Or cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

“I feel fantastic,” Lewandowski said. “I am very proud and happy to be honest, this is a great day for me, and also for my club and colleagues. This award also belongs to my colleagues, the coach and Bayern Munich in general. It is an incredible feeling, a lot of emotions.

“If you win such an award and share that title with Messi and Ronaldo, that is unbelievable and it means so much to me. A long time ago, I remember I was longing for something like this and now I can win such an award. This really means, regardless of where you come form, all that matters is what you put into it.”

In the women’s category, Lucy Bronze was named The Best FIFA Women’s Player of the Year. Bronze returned home to England with Manchester City this year after starring for Lyon last season.

Bayern’s goalkeeper Manuel Neuer was named The Best Men’s Goalkeeper ahead of Liverpool keeper Alisson and Jan Oblak of Atletico Madrid.

Sarah Bouhaddi was named the Best Women’s Goalkeeper after helping French giants Lyon to a Division 1, Champions League and Coupe de France treble. Bouhaddi beat Christiane Endler of PSG and Alyssa Naeher of the Chicago Red Stars to the title.

And Liverpool boss Jurgen Klopp Jurgen won The Best Men’s Coach award for the second successive year while Sarina Wiegman, former Netherlands head coach who is also on her way to managing the England Team, won Best Women’s Coach, edging out Chelsea’s Emma Hayes and Lyon’s Jean-Luc Vasseur.

Meanwhile, Tottenham Hotspur striker Son Heung-min won the Puskas Award for his incredible individual goal for Spurs against Burnley, with the South Korean beating Luis Suarez and Giorgian De Arrascaeta.